Report Unclaimed Property
Reuniting rightful owners with their property is a big responsibility and one the Treasurer’s Office takes seriously. This website will guide you through the process of reporting unclaimed property. It is our goal with this website to make the process as simple as possible while maximizing state resources to best serve the citizens. All entities, wherever located, who are in possession of property belonging to an individual or business with a last known address in South Carolina are required to report and remit that property which has reached the statutory dormancy period (see link below) no later than November 1 of each year.
Thank you in helping Palmetto Payback reunite unclaimed property with rightful owners.
Curtis M. Loftis, Jr
Filing The Report
- All reports must be submitted electronically in the NAUPA format.
PAPER REPORTS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.
- Click Here for specific filing instructions.
- South Carolina does not require negative reports.
- South Carolina does not accept safe deposit contents.`
Property that has been unclaimed for the dormancy period specific to that property type as of June 30 is reportable by November 1.
Due Diligence Requirements
No more than one hundred twenty days before the holder files their report, the holder must send a written notice to the apparent owner that stating that the holder is in possession of property which has been deemed abandoned and will be remitted to the state as unclaimed if the apparent owner does not reply. Due diligence notices need only be sent for accounts of $50 or more and do not need to be sent to those owners for whom the address on the holder’s records has been proven to be incorrect. Click here for a Sample Due Diligence Letter (16KB .pdf)
Property type codes, owner type codes and relationship codes are required.
Property Reportable To Another State
South Carolina will accept incidental property (ten or fewer properties, totaling $1,000 or less) reportable to another state only if allowed by the other state. Please refer to the NAUPA Reciprocity Matrix for state specific information. IMPORTANT – If you include unclaimed property reportable to other states in your South Carolina report, you must comply with unclaimed property laws of the states of last known address in reporting those items.